One moment please...

Question:

What happens after I have selected the New Word Merge check box under the Word Merge section on the Documents: Settings page and saved the settings?

Answer:

Upon selecting the New Word Merge check box and saving the settings, several pages in Exact Synergy Enterprise will be affected.

  • The Reference number field will be displayed on the Documents: Settings page.
  • On the Account: Settings page (go to Customers à Setup à Other à Settings), the following sections will be affected:
    • The Mail merge: Layouts section will not be displayed.
    • The Mail merge for customer portal: Document type section will not be displayed.
    • The Mail merge for reseller portal: Document type section will not be displayed.
    • The Word Merge settings for Customer Portal section will be displayed.
    • The Word Merge settings for Reseller Portal section will be displayed.
  • The Create letter and Create email buttons will be displayed on the following cards and pages, depending on the merge process (single or bulk) that you are performing:
    • Account cards
    • Contact cards
    • Person cards
    • Project cards
    • Request page
    • Document: New page
    • Accounts search results page
    • Contacts search results page
    • Requests search results page
    • Person or people search results page
  • The Generate Quotation button will be displayed on quotation cards, replacing Open in MS Word.
  • The Mail merge button has been removed from the account cards, contact cards, person cards, request cards and the Document: New page.
  • The mail merge functionality from Synergy Office Integration will no longer be visible in Microsoft Word.

Keep in mind:

  • Depending on the product update you are using, you may or may not use all of the features mentioned above.
  • The new Word Merge functionality comes as a package in product update 250 which replaces the old mail merge functionality. For new customers, or when you are creating a database, the old mail merge functionality will no longer be available. No settings are required.
  • Existing customers moving to product update 250 will still have the old mail merge functionality by default, and this can be switched easily to the new Word Merge functionality.
  • For more information on the Word Merge functionality, see Getting started with Word Merge.

Related documents 

 


Attachments
FAQ_Activating New Word Merge setting.docx 42.3 KB View Download